New Beginnings

2010 was quite a year. I’ve felt like I was sinking. I almost let go of many things that have always been important to me. I’ve been a fool plain and simple.

A person’s worth is not their job. It’s not their bank account. It’s the love they attract. It’s their kindness and their giving ways, and the way they ‘see’ the world. Nothing else defines a person more than the love they exude. The give and take directly influence how successful one’s life is – how much it’s worth . . .

I’d let myself let go of that knowledge momentarily. I never will again.

It’s Christmas morning and the snow bypassed Georgia again. I’m glad. We need firewood. We opted for Yule in our home. We can all celebrate the return of the sun. While I believe in Jesus as a person, I don’t believe in Christmas as His date of birth. That makes it hard to celebrate whole heartedly. So for us, I think we will work the season! Solstice on the 21st, the 13 days of Yule, and a stocking on Christmas morning. It sure has taken me long enough to get this plan together. So on the night of the 20th, we put up our tree and decorate it. On the 21st, we have our Festival meal, bonfire, and open gifts. Then throughout the rest of Yule, we make trips out, continue feasting with cookies, hot chocolate, sending cards, visiting, a drive to see lights, stockings on christmas morning with small treats. I’d like us to do a day of volunteer service as well, and a visit to a nursing home with small gifts. We’ll get it worked out now that we have a plan 🙂 My girls are right. We need to make memories.

So moving forward, I focus on love, giving, kindness, family, stewardship, and memories. Sounds like a good place to begin. A new job needs to manifest for both me and Steve. I will be knitting and crafting and growing herbs. Steve will see about delivery work again. We’ll garden, get the house ready to sell, and try to make a move this year.

And for anyone who wonders, greenjeangranny seemed an appropriate new beginning. A neighborboy used to call me greenjeans when I was a kid and I am an official Granny LOL. You generally catch me in jeans and ‘green’ definitely suits me.

Bright blessings for the rest of the Holiday Season.

Walk in peace.

About Green Jean Granny

I believe in and practice positive living with a bit of a barb it seems. I love YARN, music, reading, history, and gemstones. I am passionate about the Earth. I am a true homebody. I've said I was Pagan for years to separate myself from a churchy upbringing and judgmental family that left me outside of its beliefs. I believe it's our responsibility to tend and protect the Earth. I basically do my thing in a (not so) quiet, amused way. I believe in the power of my own hands, the energy of combined prayer, and caring for the earth. I attend a nondenominational Christian Church. I have 6 kids, all home-born and successfully breastfed. The oldest 5 are grown. The youngest is attending Community College and living at home. I'm the oldest of 9, daughter of a missionary mother who lives in The Republic of Congo, married to the son of a preacher, with 3 spoiled dogs and and an add on (my daughter's pit bull lives here for a bit while she hikes the Appalachian Trail. Right now, there is small balance after yrs of unemployment. My disability was approved due to degenerative disc disease and fibromyalgia. I believe we owe it to ourselves to protect our mental health. It's precious and the one thing we can control. I dislike my own housework and I talk too much. I bought a house in North Carolina and after trying to get my husband here for 6 months, he had a stroke. I'm a two-time caregiver. Steve's got hemiparesis and diabetes and is learning to walk and trying to use his right side again. It's slow going. Our 10 kitties were rehomed by rescue after his stroke.
This entry was posted in Holidays. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

