a little part time money and survival

For 3 weeks, I’ll work 4 hrs a day, 2 days a week. After that, she wants one day a week, 2-4 hrs. It’s not much, but it’s something – and something is good!

I made an all purpose cleaner this morning and used it in my kitchen. It smells so good all I want to do is go outside, turn around, and come back in! lol 4oz water, 4oz vinegar, 2 TB castille liquid soap, and all my remnants of peppermint oil, tea tree oil and lemon oil. Mix it up in a spray bottle and GO! Wonderful smelling stuff.

We are watching the garden come in and hoping it does well. Down to our last $100 in the bank with nothing left of UI benefits. It’s a bit sobering. I’m thanking every god I can think of for the little part time work. I’ve also lost 32 lbs since January. Partly necessity, but mostly by choice – I feel so much better.

I had a job interview with Advanced Auto Parts Friday morning too which hasn’t gotten back with me. So many people were there. I’d have felt real good about it if I hadn’t called the store Auto Zone during my presentation. GAH! I mix my words up sometimes when I’m stressed. It is what it is.

My sweet grandson is rolling over now and he laughs after he does it! Really, it’s more like a squeal. So precious. I think his mama has fallen in love with him finally. She’d wanted a girl – I promised her she’d come to adore her boy.

There was about 2 cups of strawberries ripe this morning and I have a pot of red beans cooking. Tomorrow, we’ll do hard boiled eggs and a wild green salad mid morning. We have yogurts and oranges and I was thinking of making flat bread (an unleavened pancake of sorts) to spread with peanutbutter. We just have to get to the 12th and I’ll have 50$ for groceries.

So I guess that’s it. Another day moving right along. Cool, ruined nails from the garden, sunshine, lemon balm in a vase, dog at my feet, Kentucky Derby about to start, hubby puttering in the yard and a happy teen. Except for money, it doesn’t get better!

update: The lady didn’t call me. After 3 hrs of waiting, I called her. She didn’t feel well, she was resting, she forgot to call me. Maybe she’ll call tomorrow if she feels better. I felt like crying that someone once again treated me with such little respect. But maybe it was all necessary to meet the lady at the GNC who has arranged my meeting with a hiring manager in the morning!

About Green Jean Granny

I believe in and practice positive living with a bit of a barb it seems. I love YARN, music, reading, history, and gemstones. I am passionate about the Earth. I am a true homebody. I've said I was Pagan for years to separate myself from a churchy upbringing and judgmental family that left me outside of its beliefs. I believe it's our responsibility to tend and protect the Earth. I basically do my thing in a (not so) quiet, amused way. I believe in the power of my own hands, the energy of combined prayer, and caring for the earth. I attend a nondenominational Christian Church. I have 6 kids, all home-born and successfully breastfed. The oldest 5 are grown. The youngest is attending Community College and living at home. I'm the oldest of 9, daughter of a missionary mother who lives in The Republic of Congo, married to the son of a preacher, with 3 spoiled dogs and and an add on (my daughter's pit bull lives here for a bit while she hikes the Appalachian Trail. Right now, there is small balance after yrs of unemployment. My disability was approved due to degenerative disc disease and fibromyalgia. I believe we owe it to ourselves to protect our mental health. It's precious and the one thing we can control. I dislike my own housework and I talk too much. I bought a house in North Carolina and after trying to get my husband here for 6 months, he had a stroke. I'm a two-time caregiver. Steve's got hemiparesis and diabetes and is learning to walk and trying to use his right side again. It's slow going. Our 10 kitties were rehomed by rescue after his stroke.
This entry was posted in survival. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to a little part time money and survival

  1. Kathy says:

    This is good, very good. Thankful with you for this small offering of work for you and hoping for a call back with the Auto Parts. Those berries look so good!! And wow, congratulations on the weight loss. That’s a good chunk of lost weight. So how’d you do it? Special diet or just eating less?
    Happy Mother’s Day Amber. xo

  2. Happy Mother’s day to you too Kathy. Weight loss is just no soda, less creamer in my coffee, not eating after 8pm, sharing a meal – half a sandwhich vs the whole big burger, etc. Moving more. I can’t wear them yet, but I got a pair of 18 jeans on and zipped! It’s a great motivator!

Leave a Reply

