The World keeps spinning round and round

So one thing leads to another right? A lady calls me about housekeeping – I go someplace else to check on e/o’s for cleaners. I meet a lady over the phone, then face to face, and she gives me a referal to another store and a manager who can HIRE right then, right that moment. I meet him tomorrow morning.

Here’s the story for those who haven’t seen it elsewhere ;0)

I called the GNC store this morning to find out their hours and the lady who answered said they open at 10am. It was 9:20 when she answered and I quipped, wow, you are a great employee to answer the phone off the clock! She laughed, said she believed in answering the phone and we hung up. At 10…, I was greeted by a young man who was trying his best to help me find what I wanted, but he had no clue what I was trying to do. I was checking out their essential oils of course! I started talking to him about how they could be used and their properties and what I was doing, mainly because he was trying to ‘show’ me to everything. I figured I might as well talk to him :0) The lady at the counter who’d been on the phone made eye contact with me and I said “you must be Sandy, the lady I talked to earlier” she said “oh was that YOU this morning?” We exchanged some info about herbs and cleaners and I told her I grow medicinal herbs. She asked if I grew marijuana and I said NO, but I’ve considered it because of the unemployment. It basically lead to conversation about a JOB – a store 6 miles from me needs help badly. Not only did she call the manager to let him know I was coming in tomorrow, she handed me a print application! I haven’t touched a print application in the entire time I’ve been laid off. She also let me know that while I had to fill out the online app, the manager in the store can hire me on the spot if he chooses. OMG. She was so helpful and nice and told me how the stores have high turn overs of employees because they push for sales numbers. Do you KNOW what my interests could do for their numbers? LOL I’ve cooked with protein powder – I’m actively loosing weight. I know herbs, I have pets and treat them with natural products, I can explain green cleaners. I know how to use their products to SAVE money. If I don’t get that job tomorrow, something is really, really, wrong. I am so excited. I told Steve it doesn’t matter how long it’s for, everything is better than nothing! I’ll work 1 hour, 20 hrs, 40…whatever they need. I know once I’m hired, an employer will keep me. I am also not going to let an inconsiderate lazy lady get me down. I guess I’m terrible. I don’t want to work for lazy people! If I was feeling bad and had an unemployed female cousin living in MY basement, I’d tell them to earn their keep and help me and NOT pay money out to a stranger for the same work. I’d rather pay my family than someone I don’t know.

What a twisted way of thinking –

aw man, who cares? I’m going to GNC tomorrow, READY to work.

About Green Jean Granny

I believe in and practice positive living with a bit of a barb it seems. I love YARN, music, reading, history, and gemstones. I am passionate about the Earth. I am a true homebody. I've said I was Pagan for years to separate myself from a churchy upbringing and judgmental family that left me outside of its beliefs. I believe it's our responsibility to tend and protect the Earth. I basically do my thing in a (not so) quiet, amused way. I believe in the power of my own hands, the energy of combined prayer, and caring for the earth. I attend a nondenominational Christian Church. I have 6 kids, all home-born and successfully breastfed. The oldest 5 are grown. The youngest is attending Community College and living at home. I'm the oldest of 9, daughter of a missionary mother who lives in The Republic of Congo, married to the son of a preacher, with 3 spoiled dogs and and an add on (my daughter's pit bull lives here for a bit while she hikes the Appalachian Trail. Right now, there is small balance after yrs of unemployment. My disability was approved due to degenerative disc disease and fibromyalgia. I believe we owe it to ourselves to protect our mental health. It's precious and the one thing we can control. I dislike my own housework and I talk too much. I bought a house in North Carolina and after trying to get my husband here for 6 months, he had a stroke. I'm a two-time caregiver. Steve's got hemiparesis and diabetes and is learning to walk and trying to use his right side again. It's slow going. Our 10 kitties were rehomed by rescue after his stroke.
This entry was posted in daily living, survival. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The World keeps spinning round and round

  1. Kathy says:

    I’m lighting candles for you right now. So excited! But what is the part about the lazy lady, I missed something 🙂

    • it was the housekeeping job – she didn’t call again. She has let her house become a mess and has an unemployed cousin living there not helping either. The manager at the GNC didn’t show up. It’s minimum wage and he treated it like it meant nothing. I really struggled to keep my cool afterwards. I’m so sick of people acting like effort is nothing.

      • Kathy says:

        I’m sorry Amber, That was incredibly rude of him! It’s not too much to expect common courtesy but not many show it anymore.

Leave a Reply

