It’s about time, it’s about space, it’s about life

This morning held a first for me. I quit the first job I’ve ever quit after 2 weeks, in all my 50 yrs. The manager wasn’t picking up the phone and I left a message. I also left my phone number in case he wants to call me back. So wierd.

Steve and I are going to run a peach stand. I know I talked about it the other day, but we committed. It’s a lot of hours but it will be hours we can spend together. We started this relationship working together and we enjoy it – it’s not new.  We will keep trying to develop our own cleaning business to suppliment the peach stand. Seems like nothing changes from day to day but ideas abound. I am going to set up a traveling pack for making my jewelry and work it during down time in the peach stand. I am really excited to have a job we can do other things while doing. I can knit, read, have music. We’ll plug in a cord and have a lamp and a fan and a boom box! Woot!

I walked the garden this morning. Twenty leaves of collards, 1 yellow squash, 1 cucumber, 1 strawberry. Baby okra are developing. There must be 30 baby squash out there. The tomatoes need staking. We are going to have an abundance of tomatoes! The beans need a net to grow up. The spaghetti squash need a net/support too. It looks like someone seeded polk weed in the beds. We need to loosen the dirt around the plant bases. Carrots are up and thick, young greens are everywhere! We need to work it!

Tuesday night, we made Geoffrey attend the 8th grade award ceremony. He got one award for Acedemics and was not happy to be on stage not getting lots of awards. At the end of the ceremony, the Vice Principal stopped the closing speach she was giving and said she had a surprise for the students. Over and over the same names came up for excellence and they decided to award plaques for Superior Acedemics to 15 of the 8th grade students. Geoffrey’s name was the 3rd called! He was so excited. His face was a huge smile. He had no clue the honor was coming. He decided to use his new shiney plaque to shine light into my and Steve’s eyes while the rest of the awards were given out. He was very proud and very silly. On the way home he made up a ring-rhyme ditty about how awesome he was and how how great he was.

Last night we won 1st at trivia which gave us gas money to play again tonight at a little place we’ve won at for the last 2 weeks. That money will buy toilet paper and pet food. We are scraping by. I wish the stress of not having jobs would go away. If we could live like this, working together, gardening, loving our boy and each other, without the stress of “get to work” over our heads – it would be a good thing. We are simple people. We don’t NEED a lot. We just need unbroken. And I sound like a scratched record… sorry.

Today, I said goodbye to GNC – I decided my back health is more important than $70 a week when we can make it up in trivia earnings. I love my husband for being willing to make sure the fruit stand works with 50 hrs a week required. I love my son for having his summer days planned out so we don’t have to worry about him. I love my little dog who checks on ME first, always. I love my garden that is trying to grow to the moon! lol I should thin it, I’m sure, but I can’t bring myself to do it! Sometimes I get overwhelmed. This morning is a different time. This morning is about possibilities! New things! and Living with LOVE.

And coffee…don’t forget the coffee!

About Green Jean Granny

I believe in and practice positive living with a bit of a barb it seems. I love YARN, music, reading, history, and gemstones. I am passionate about the Earth. I am a true homebody. I've said I was Pagan for years to separate myself from a churchy upbringing and judgmental family that left me outside of its beliefs. I believe it's our responsibility to tend and protect the Earth. I basically do my thing in a (not so) quiet, amused way. I believe in the power of my own hands, the energy of combined prayer, and caring for the earth. I attend a nondenominational Christian Church. I have 6 kids, all home-born and successfully breastfed. The oldest 5 are grown. The youngest is attending Community College and living at home. I'm the oldest of 9, daughter of a missionary mother who lives in The Republic of Congo, married to the son of a preacher, with 3 spoiled dogs and and an add on (my daughter's pit bull lives here for a bit while she hikes the Appalachian Trail. Right now, there is small balance after yrs of unemployment. My disability was approved due to degenerative disc disease and fibromyalgia. I believe we owe it to ourselves to protect our mental health. It's precious and the one thing we can control. I dislike my own housework and I talk too much. I bought a house in North Carolina and after trying to get my husband here for 6 months, he had a stroke. I'm a two-time caregiver. Steve's got hemiparesis and diabetes and is learning to walk and trying to use his right side again. It's slow going. Our 10 kitties were rehomed by rescue after his stroke.
This entry was posted in daily living, survival. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to It’s about time, it’s about space, it’s about life

  1. CottageWitch says:

    congratulations to G!! I love it when they win awards… and silly is always good! i say good for you for quitting GNC… you are so right about your health being way more important!! i’ve worked retail my whole life and it’s a tough business. standing at the register at the grocery store was hell and minimum wage is nothing. i love my coaching job way better!! even if it’s only seasonal, it’s what i love to do. yes… you need to find something you can do together and having time for other things is terrific!! xoxox

Leave a Reply

