Survival … suggestions greedily accepted

Our house cleaning gig postponed on us till next week. That $100 is so precious and it really hurts. We are learning to adjust. I wish everything didn’t start in survival mode, but it’s where we are. Sorry loves.

I thought about asking a new friend for some of his special seeds, but jail doesn’t really appeal to me – plus I’ve never been a smoker – but my son-in-law would really like some special brownies for his special days… lol shame on me. I wouldn’t, but I am human and think about it, briefly, a lot. Wonder what they sell for. STOP IT Amber – really. Move off in a different direction. Who wants to buy soap? Cleaners? A nice wrapped crystal? Something legal? Anyone . . . ????

Survival – noun

1. the act or fact of surviving, especially under adverse or unusual circumstances.
2. a person or thing that survives or endures, especially an ancient custom, observance, belief, or the like.
3. Anthropology . (no longer in technical use) the persistence of a cultural trait, practice, or the like long after it has lost its original meaning or usefulness.
in cultural anthropology, a cultural phenomenon that originates under one set of conditions and persists in a period when those conditions no longer obtain. The term was first employed by the British anthropologist Edward Burnett Tylor in his Primitive Culture (1871). Tylor believed that seemingly irrational customs and beliefs, such as peasant superstitions, were vestiges of earlier rational practices. He distinguished between continuing customs that maintained their function or meaning and those that had lost their utility and were further thought to be poorly integrated with the rest of culture. The latter he termed survivals.

I wonder where we really DO go from here? We are surviving, kind of, but haven’t re-fit IN. So far, there is not enough being generated to make a difference or even pay the house payment. $50 short is not enough to make it – and the dog  needs food which I can’t buy. Screaming to the Universe isn’t helping. It isn’t helping. I hear echos . . .

About Green Jean Granny

I believe in and practice positive living with a bit of a barb it seems. I love YARN, music, reading, history, and gemstones. I am passionate about the Earth. I am a true homebody. I've said I was Pagan for years to separate myself from a churchy upbringing and judgmental family that left me outside of its beliefs. I believe it's our responsibility to tend and protect the Earth. I basically do my thing in a (not so) quiet, amused way. I believe in the power of my own hands, the energy of combined prayer, and caring for the earth. I attend a nondenominational Christian Church. I have 6 kids, all home-born and successfully breastfed. The oldest 5 are grown. The youngest is attending Community College and living at home. I'm the oldest of 9, daughter of a missionary mother who lives in The Republic of Congo, married to the son of a preacher, with 3 spoiled dogs and and an add on (my daughter's pit bull lives here for a bit while she hikes the Appalachian Trail. Right now, there is small balance after yrs of unemployment. My disability was approved due to degenerative disc disease and fibromyalgia. I believe we owe it to ourselves to protect our mental health. It's precious and the one thing we can control. I dislike my own housework and I talk too much. I bought a house in North Carolina and after trying to get my husband here for 6 months, he had a stroke. I'm a two-time caregiver. Steve's got hemiparesis and diabetes and is learning to walk and trying to use his right side again. It's slow going. Our 10 kitties were rehomed by rescue after his stroke.
This entry was posted in daily living. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Survival … suggestions greedily accepted

  1. Jody says:

    That sucks…(((HUGGS)))

  2. Kathy says:

    Amber, is your Etsy shop open?

  3. nothing there at the moment…it exists tho.

  4. CottageWitch says:

    well boo! when you are up and growing, you’ll have to have cancellation fees! i know that doesn’t help for now. and i totally understand your thoughts bouncing back and forth to those seeds. it’s where the money is and always will be. hmmmm but probably not worth the risks involved! and get the etsy shop up! 🙂

Leave a Reply

