battling on . . .

The magic has slipped – I have to get it back.

Today I got up and made coffee. I checked Facebook and emails. I wen’t into the garden and picked 3 tomatoes, 3 squash, and a dozen okra (too big to use). Something is very at home in my garden and it’s not me! The opossum was here last night, and we see the racoon pair almost every night, and the cats lay in the herbs. There are plenty of collards.

I sorted my beads on Friday. I have a lovely stock and no imagination. Well, not quite no imagination. I want to try bead crochet. I only have small seed beads so can’t get as creative as I’d like and I’ll probably have to work harder than I want, too! lol

I’m moving back to my diet – breakfast was 2 boiled eggs, 1/2 a yogurt, a clementine and coffee with half and half. Best I could do today. Lunch will be tuna salad and raw veges, maybe a 1/3 cup cottage cheese for dipping. I have pork thawing for dinner, seems it’s always what’s for dinner – we got a bundle from the local meat shop and it’s heavily pork. Maybe I’ll use sauerkraut with it.

I’ll reapply at CVS, Rite Aide, and Hobby Lobby today. I need a job. Same old song. My kids need to not pay for us. We are so broke. No gas money, no shampoo, no paper towels. I had to buy tampons. WHY can’t menopause just settle on me and STOP the need for 2 $8.99 per box plugs. The money is so precious. We are taking back the miscelaneous expenses from the kids – 150$. That leaves them with our gas/elec, water. They are stressed trying to finish paying off their student loans, they pay my son’s college plus send him $100 a month for food, and cover screw up money for 2 other sisters, and help her dad from time to time. Now they are pregnant and want to buy a house. This young couple is amazing. They step up and handle everything life throws at all of us. Someday, when I’m back on my feet – I’m going to make sure I have something to at least WILL to them. All I can do is ask the Universe to bless them DAILY. Bless them, their jobs, their family, and their new baby (8 weeks 3 days old – all tucked unknowingly inside V’s womb). Just the thought overwhelms me. Goddess protect their lives.

Today is Steve’s day to work with his brother. He’ll bring home $100. House payment will be late, but with all care, we’ll make it by the 15th.

I also found the ants are at least finding new paths to crawl when I use peppermint and citronella oils in my counter cleaner. If it weren’t for the animals, Steve would have had them killed years ago. So we battle on.

That’s the scoop for today. Battling on; laughing when we can, crying when we need to.

About Green Jean Granny

I believe in and practice positive living with a bit of a barb it seems. I love YARN, music, reading, history, and gemstones. I am passionate about the Earth. I am a true homebody. I've said I was Pagan for years to separate myself from a churchy upbringing and judgmental family that left me outside of its beliefs. I believe it's our responsibility to tend and protect the Earth. I basically do my thing in a (not so) quiet, amused way. I believe in the power of my own hands, the energy of combined prayer, and caring for the earth. I attend a nondenominational Christian Church. I have 6 kids, all home-born and successfully breastfed. The oldest 5 are grown. The youngest is attending Community College and living at home. I'm the oldest of 9, daughter of a missionary mother who lives in The Republic of Congo, married to the son of a preacher, with 3 spoiled dogs and and an add on (my daughter's pit bull lives here for a bit while she hikes the Appalachian Trail. Right now, there is small balance after yrs of unemployment. My disability was approved due to degenerative disc disease and fibromyalgia. I believe we owe it to ourselves to protect our mental health. It's precious and the one thing we can control. I dislike my own housework and I talk too much. I bought a house in North Carolina and after trying to get my husband here for 6 months, he had a stroke. I'm a two-time caregiver. Steve's got hemiparesis and diabetes and is learning to walk and trying to use his right side again. It's slow going. Our 10 kitties were rehomed by rescue after his stroke.
This entry was posted in daily living, survival. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to battling on . . .

  1. Jody says:

    I too laugh when O can and cry when I need too!!!…((HUGGS))

  2. Kathy says:

    I’m with you in spirit dear one. Much love to you.

Leave a Reply

