another week down

We had a long talk with a friend last night about all kinds of things. Politics, trivia, work, Arkansas; you know, the get to know you stuff. I was up way too late. :0) We won $25 cash at trivia. Gas money.

The coffee water is heating. the skies started out overcast but I doubt it will rain. It’s simply HOT.

G is all registered for school. I was hoping a pair of shoes someone offered him would come in the mail. I guess he’ll start High School in my tennis shoes. He just says “it’s ok mommy, I love you.” And I sit here and fight tears. I know logically it’s what people have to do and I wear men’s shoes, so it’s not like it’s going to hurt him. But as a mom, it hurts. He didn’t need supplies this year yet. Just lockers and paper, pens and notebook. Those simple things are covered. Hopefully what he used last year will be enough for any other requests. I’m so proud of this kid. His classes are all advanced.

Advanced Placement Human Geography (History)/Freshman Honors Language Arts/French 1/Accelerated Integrated Algebra 1/Honors Biology/ and either Beginning Chorus or PE – He has changed his mind and wants PE.

I told him I loved Language Arts, but was most intered in Biology. We have wonderful conversation going this past week about military and history and French. My head can’t quite get wrapped around the young man he’s become. I still feel my baby.

Yesterday I rearranged the living room. I have a couple hours worth of work still to do on a nice soft gray pair of wrist warmers. I also want to make a few gemstone bracelets to sell at a fund raiser for a friend’s daughter. That project needs to start soon. We have our cleaning gig on Tuesday. And I have a job interview on Monday at a train shop. I’m interviewing to photograph trains which a local company posts on Ebay. It’s a 70 mile round trip for $10 an hour. Not sure it’s wise to go that far out, but we have to do something. So I’m unpacking my smile and charm and will hit the pavement running come Monday morning.

so I guess that’s my update.

 

About Green Jean Granny

I believe in and practice positive living with a bit of a barb it seems. I love YARN, music, reading, history, and gemstones. I am passionate about the Earth. I am a true homebody. I've said I was Pagan for years to separate myself from a churchy upbringing and judgmental family that left me outside of its beliefs. I believe it's our responsibility to tend and protect the Earth. I basically do my thing in a (not so) quiet, amused way. I believe in the power of my own hands, the energy of combined prayer, and caring for the earth. I attend a nondenominational Christian Church. I have 6 kids, all home-born and successfully breastfed. The oldest 5 are grown. The youngest is attending Community College and living at home. I'm the oldest of 9, daughter of a missionary mother who lives in The Republic of Congo, married to the son of a preacher, with 3 spoiled dogs and and an add on (my daughter's pit bull lives here for a bit while she hikes the Appalachian Trail. Right now, there is small balance after yrs of unemployment. My disability was approved due to degenerative disc disease and fibromyalgia. I believe we owe it to ourselves to protect our mental health. It's precious and the one thing we can control. I dislike my own housework and I talk too much. I bought a house in North Carolina and after trying to get my husband here for 6 months, he had a stroke. I'm a two-time caregiver. Steve's got hemiparesis and diabetes and is learning to walk and trying to use his right side again. It's slow going. Our 10 kitties were rehomed by rescue after his stroke.
This entry was posted in daily living, survival. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to another week down

  1. kathysm says:

    What size shoe does G wear? Styles and colors? Just in case I come across some when I’m out……

  2. omg, he is an 11 wide. The ones he was wearing are an 8.5. He never says a word.

Leave a Reply

