just a simple day.

Today’s accomplishment – homemade laundry soap! I used baking soda, Borax, soap flakes and lemon essential oil. Steve’s so excited to try it. We’ve been buying off brands at the Dollar Tree that left the clothes stinking even after they were washed. I don’t think that’s gonna be an issue anymore! I’m going to look at borax uses too because I think this cleaner is going to end up being multi-purpose! Yipee!

Steve asked me if i’d use the freeze-dried wheat we are getting and make bread. He was complimenting my bread. I KNOW what’s going on, but doggone, I didn’t expect it so fast!

I found $3 in the pocket of my coat from the back of the closet and bought a can of tuna, a small onion, and a plain yougurt. I’m pulling out my yogurt maker after dinner!

I went through my yarn and found enough to make a blanket for Geoffrey to replace an old quilt that has fallen apart that he has loved to unsalvagable threads. lol Drama is needed to convince him he has to accept a new blanket! He’ll like camoflage and olive 🙂

He just came inside and asked me if I wanted to see something pretty. So I followed him outside and watched as he laid on on the deck chair with his head where his feet should go and his feet up in the air. He was gazing at the tree branches and looking at their layers against a perfectly blue sky. He told me i have to look from his perspective so i can see what he was seeing. I laid down on the chair and couldn’t get up! We both busted out laughing as i rolled off the chair. I told him he was right. It was pretty, and i was funny. lol I adore my boy. He always surprises me.

 

About Green Jean Granny

I believe in and practice positive living with a bit of a barb it seems. I love YARN, music, reading, history, and gemstones. I am passionate about the Earth. I am a true homebody. I've said I was Pagan for years to separate myself from a churchy upbringing and judgmental family that left me outside of its beliefs. I believe it's our responsibility to tend and protect the Earth. I basically do my thing in a (not so) quiet, amused way. I believe in the power of my own hands, the energy of combined prayer, and caring for the earth. I attend a nondenominational Christian Church. I have 6 kids, all home-born and successfully breastfed. The oldest 5 are grown. The youngest is attending Community College and living at home. I'm the oldest of 9, daughter of a missionary mother who lives in The Republic of Congo, married to the son of a preacher, with 3 spoiled dogs and and an add on (my daughter's pit bull lives here for a bit while she hikes the Appalachian Trail. Right now, there is small balance after yrs of unemployment. My disability was approved due to degenerative disc disease and fibromyalgia. I believe we owe it to ourselves to protect our mental health. It's precious and the one thing we can control. I dislike my own housework and I talk too much. I bought a house in North Carolina and after trying to get my husband here for 6 months, he had a stroke. I'm a two-time caregiver. Steve's got hemiparesis and diabetes and is learning to walk and trying to use his right side again. It's slow going. Our 10 kitties were rehomed by rescue after his stroke.
This entry was posted in daily living, survival. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to just a simple day.

  1. kathysm says:

    Wonderful! I love making homemade laundry soap and my goodness, it’s not only fresh and natural, it’s pennies per load. Have you started the process of listing your house for sale?
    I really liked your idea of selling, then buying some land with a mobile home where you can grow and do whatever you want, without the interference of neighbors.

  2. I’m working on packing stuff Kathy and we’re going to have a yard sell. Hubby will do nothing till the last moment I’m sure. It’s how he is. i will do my best to push him for this to happen. Cross your fingers for me.

Leave a Reply

