gray skies

I guess it’s how you look at them – dreary, or friendly. I always like the autumn drizzle. Day after day though, the gray gets a bit challenging. We had a bit of sunshine early on this morning then the clouds returned. No matter, I’m kinda used to gray.

On TV this morning I saw a news clip with Gov. Deal patting himself on the back because in 2013, Lowe’s will be opening up a 3rd plant in Georgia, bringing 600 jobs to the Rome area. I’m really happy for the 600 people, but it’s laughable to act like that’s a coup for job creation.

I have August’s house payment written out and will pay it tomorrow.

Steve folded clothes today and finally left the house at 5pm to go cut his brother’s grass. I know 2 hrs is plenty of time and I can’t blame him for not having any umph about it. He left here wearing an old trash pair of shoes his brother gave him which he was throwing away that are too big and sliding up and down his heals as he walked. I wanted to cry.

The day got too late a start to get the tire replaced. He found a place to buy a used tire for $25. The steel belt is so bare and protruding we are not safe to drive.

the gas/elec bill came today. The notice for tag renewal came last week. Water bill will get here tomorrow. I need to pay Comcast for the Internet.

Dell took their money – DAMN them – and I mean that. I was late once and the set up auto draft so they always GOT payment. They raised the pmt the next month and I couldn’t pay more. For 2 yrs they have refused to let me into the management section of the website until I am caught up – they will not cancel the auto withdrawl or close my account. They take 55$ from me monthly and my only choice is to close my bank account, which I cannot do. So as far as I am concerned, they are now stealing from me because my merchandise would have been paid off long ago. they simply take my money because my account accrues late payments due to the rise in amount. I hate them – just so you know.

Again, no meat today. I had a boiled egg for breakfast and a small mixed green salad as filler later. I made a pot of potatoes with peas and whitesauce for today’s main meal. I guess we were full enough. 3 more days till the food stamps reload.

Tonight President Obama will give his create jobs plan speech – I expect it to be pretty impotent. the republicans got hung up in their debating on repealing Obamacare. They offered nothing. I am deflated by it all.

I am determined to see past the gray skies.

I put an add on Craig’s list to sell my shawl, and to sell the lady’s clothes we got from JP. Hopefully we’ll get rid of both!

the seeds my sweet friend gave me arrived this afternoon. Kale, turnips, collards and sunflowers. Sunflowers always remind me of one of my favorite movies, The Calendar Girls – and here is my chin up reference for the day –

“I don’t think there’s anything on this planet
that more trumpets life than the sunflower.
For me, that’s because of the reason behind its name.
Not because it looks like the sun but because it follows the sun.
During the course of the day, the head tracks the journey of the sun across the sky.
A satellite dish for sunshine.
Wherever light is, no matter how weak, these flowers will find it.
And that’s such an admirable thing.
And such a lesson in life.”

After the speech – I’m popping in the Calendar Girls and crocheting :0) I have candles lit in prayer for those facing rains and flooding. My heart is with those effected.

About Green Jean Granny

I believe in and practice positive living with a bit of a barb it seems. I love YARN, music, reading, history, and gemstones. I am passionate about the Earth. I am a true homebody. I've said I was Pagan for years to separate myself from a churchy upbringing and judgmental family that left me outside of its beliefs. I believe it's our responsibility to tend and protect the Earth. I basically do my thing in a (not so) quiet, amused way. I believe in the power of my own hands, the energy of combined prayer, and caring for the earth. I attend a nondenominational Christian Church. I have 6 kids, all home-born and successfully breastfed. The oldest 5 are grown. The youngest is attending Community College and living at home. I'm the oldest of 9, daughter of a missionary mother who lives in The Republic of Congo, married to the son of a preacher, with 3 spoiled dogs and and an add on (my daughter's pit bull lives here for a bit while she hikes the Appalachian Trail. Right now, there is small balance after yrs of unemployment. My disability was approved due to degenerative disc disease and fibromyalgia. I believe we owe it to ourselves to protect our mental health. It's precious and the one thing we can control. I dislike my own housework and I talk too much. I bought a house in North Carolina and after trying to get my husband here for 6 months, he had a stroke. I'm a two-time caregiver. Steve's got hemiparesis and diabetes and is learning to walk and trying to use his right side again. It's slow going. Our 10 kitties were rehomed by rescue after his stroke.
This entry was posted in daily living. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to gray skies

  1. greenjeans09 says:

    I have that movie on my DVR….I think I will watch it this evening. Keep your head up Mama….I’m bound and determined to find some way to help you.

    xoxo
    Ari

Leave a Reply

