So what’s up today?

I got up this morning and feel pretty good. I have a project for today – cleaning the lower kitchen cabinets. I finished the upper cabinets yesterday. They are pretty bare but they are clean and ready for groceries. I called my big strong hubby to check out a spider which was definitely a black widow. She was busy making herself a home in the back of the top shelf. Steve squished her with a sun screen bottle. Ew. Any other kind of spider and we’d have caught and carried her outside.

I walked out and checked my new seedlings – it’s chilly and they are growing slowly. It should warm up again in the next couple days.

I have coffee. The Goddess is is vibrant BLUE this morning!

I’m going to make out a good grocery list today to use on the 11th. OMG that’s tomorrow!

Speaking of the 11th. My blessings to everyone on that day. We were all effected. 10 yrs ago, I wanted to gather my family around me and stay at home. It took every bit of strength I could muster to let us emerge from my cocoon thoughts. I guess the media thinks remembering all the tragedy visually, is the way to go. Every year, terrorists try to cripple us with fear. We allow it. We are forever changed. I think we should keep our memories and share them in our homes. The Cherokee people were storytellers. We taught through our stories; remembered through our stories; and walked forward with our stories. Whipping the fear and sadness back up each year upsets me badly. It’s not the right way to remember. It’s like, the difference between watching a story and reading a story. I don’t think we need the visuals to accomplish the understanding. Yeah well, what do I know?

I have 2 panels finished of the 8 I need to make G’s new afghan. He needs a blanket to crawl under this winter. I remember last winter and how cold we were – it’s still gonna be cold this year. lol No money appeared to fix the heater so I am preparing. The blanket will be very “Army” looking.

We won $50 cash last night. I’m going to insist Steve get shoes and we pay the tag/taxes on the Jimmy. AND we won $50 house cash. Two firsts in a row.

The little dog cookies I made lasted 2 weeks! Jackie settled into accepting them without too much coaxing. $1 for 2 weeks of treats. Wonderful trick.

There is fish for dinner tonight. I’ll fry it I think. we’ll have potato soup and a mixed green salad. Actually, I can’t wait.

So what else? Say a prayer for my youngest girl. She’s got a hell of a day ahead.

– aside from being dry enough to plant the rest of the seeds, I think that’s it. Just good stuff this morning. Good stuff.

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥  oh yeah, our autumn girl has been active weaving her magic outside the front window. Isn’t she lovely?

About Green Jean Granny

I believe in and practice positive living with a bit of a barb it seems. I love YARN, music, reading, history, and gemstones. I am passionate about the Earth. I am a true homebody. I've said I was Pagan for years to separate myself from a churchy upbringing and judgmental family that left me outside of its beliefs. I believe it's our responsibility to tend and protect the Earth. I basically do my thing in a (not so) quiet, amused way. I believe in the power of my own hands, the energy of combined prayer, and caring for the earth. I attend a nondenominational Christian Church. I have 6 kids, all home-born and successfully breastfed. The oldest 5 are grown. The youngest is attending Community College and living at home. I'm the oldest of 9, daughter of a missionary mother who lives in The Republic of Congo, married to the son of a preacher, with 3 spoiled dogs and and an add on (my daughter's pit bull lives here for a bit while she hikes the Appalachian Trail. Right now, there is small balance after yrs of unemployment. My disability was approved due to degenerative disc disease and fibromyalgia. I believe we owe it to ourselves to protect our mental health. It's precious and the one thing we can control. I dislike my own housework and I talk too much. I bought a house in North Carolina and after trying to get my husband here for 6 months, he had a stroke. I'm a two-time caregiver. Steve's got hemiparesis and diabetes and is learning to walk and trying to use his right side again. It's slow going. Our 10 kitties were rehomed by rescue after his stroke.
This entry was posted in daily living. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to So what’s up today?

  1. Heather says:

    I remember in my own way sans visualizations… I have to. The storied tradition is the way to go, imo but as you said, what do I know.
    So, so thrilled you won! Woohoo!
    Sun’s shinning here too but I woke up late. That always mixes me up, lol. I’m going to rise above it!
    Loving you… happy planting! xo

  2. Heather says:

    OMG’s I don’t see the pics in the email… She’s lovely!

  3. kathysm says:

    I wholeheartedly agree, this is not the way to remember. I don’t believe it does anything to heal us and really it just invites in more sadness. There are some beautiful stories of how people have risen above the death and destruction of that day and those stories should be shared but this incessant display of horrible footage is just poor form in my opinion. Tomorrow is my son’s birthday and that is what we see on 9/11…….pure beauty in the eyes of this young man. xo

  4. kathysm says:

    And thanks so much for that book, I’m loving it!! Fills my heart with joy to read those words and I pull so much encouragement from words like that.

  5. kathysm says:

    That was a good read. I don’t agree with him about planting according to the moon phases but that’s okay, he can have his view. But he has a lot of very practical and important practices I’d like to implement and would like to have this book on my shelf, to go over more thoroughly. Great recommendation.

  6. Glad you liked it for the most part :0) ♥

  7. Kathy says:

    Just to clarify………I’m a moon planter and he thinks it’s superstitious and ridiculous and well, what kind of witch would I be if I didn’t believe in the power of my moon 🙂

  8. lol I was gonna let it go – but I THOUGHT you planted with the moon. I do.

Leave a Reply

