busy-ness

Today's efforts

So the alarm went off at 6:15am. I got up, threw my clothes on, twisted my hair into a bun, walked G to his bus stop, and climbed into the Jimmy. 6:38am. I made a quick trip to Kroger to deposit the money Steve made yesterday. Then headed to Walmart to shop for groceries. EBT refilled this morning. By 9am, I was home and groceries were put up. The sugar I bought was like gold to me this morning!

Yesterday I cleaned all the cabinets, sorted the pots and pans, cleaned under the sink and screwed canning jar lids to the underside of the top cabinets. I placed 8 jars – one each for bread crumbs, powdered milk, corn meal, flour, sugar, brown sugar, irish cut oats, and grits. I love how it looks. I made oatmeal bar soap.

I’ve boiled half a chicken and made a wonderful broth; and there are spinach noodles laying on plastic ziploc bags (for want of a sheet of plastic lol) drying. I sectioned my dough into 4ths and didn’t realize how to cut it until the last quarter! lol A pizza cutter is the way to go – NOT a boning knife! Oh the effort I’d of saved myself! (I poured the spinach cooking water into the chicken broth.)

I have my dehydrator soaking for a thorough clean. Not quite sure what I’ll do with it, but it feels like I need to get it ready for something.

We had BLT’s for lunch. I bought a big tomato and we had salad greens to use. Since neither of us ate breakfast, we cooked 5 slices of bacon and made 3 sandwhiches on fresh sliced french bread. YUM! The rest of the loaf is sitting sliced and uncovered to get stale for a bread pudding I have been craving. My UK friend Naomi told me how to make it and I can’t wait. Like I said, that sugar is gold!

I’ll make a nice chicken and vegetable soup for tomorrow. Tonight we’ll have spinach pasta with onions and peppers and chicken. I think I’ll make a parmesan cream sauce to drizzle over it. I don’t have enough to drench it in fetticcini sauce, but I’ll be darned if what I make is lacking! It’s gonna be awesome. My god this is nice even though it’s simple fare. We’ll get 4 meals out of that one chicken.

I splurged and got a pkg of pizza rolls, oreos, and a lunchable for Geoffrey. I bought a gallon of vanilla ice cream. No soda, no premade anything. I got salt pork to add to beans and collards. I got 2 lbs of gr beef, a pkg of chicken livers, 1 whole chicken, a pk of 3 cube steaks, a pk of 4 boneless pork chops, a Smoked Beef sausage, a 1lb pk of Jimmy Dean breakfast sausage, and 1 small pk of cheap bacon. I had a small roast in the freezer already that I was hording. I bought 10 cans of tuna, 2 cans of chunk chicken, and 3 cans of Vienna Sausage. I got a big block of cheese and 2 pks of lunch meat.

It sounds like so much to spend $260. 3 yrs ago I was spending that much every week and not even thinking twice. Now I check my receipt, check off each item, stretch everything as far as possible, and even hide things my guys will go through in the night time hours that I haven’t planned for. I’ve got a menu made up. I’ve got a revolving grocery list. I’ve made our laundry soap, bath soap, dish soap, dog treats, and even shampoo. The fall garden is planted.

Everyday I wake up thinking Goddess help us save our home. Every night I go to bed whispering the same thing, Goddess help us save our home. I know we are out of work. I know there is no work here – it’s so hard to let go of every plan we made for our home just because the economy is shot. I know, pack and store our things so we can sell the house… that’s the plan – but it still sucks. This is where we wanted to live. Surely something can still unfold?

Please Universe?

About Green Jean Granny

I believe in and practice positive living with a bit of a barb it seems. I love YARN, music, reading, history, and gemstones. I am passionate about the Earth. I am a true homebody. I've said I was Pagan for years to separate myself from a churchy upbringing and judgmental family that left me outside of its beliefs. I believe it's our responsibility to tend and protect the Earth. I basically do my thing in a (not so) quiet, amused way. I believe in the power of my own hands, the energy of combined prayer, and caring for the earth. I attend a nondenominational Christian Church. I have 6 kids, all home-born and successfully breastfed. The oldest 5 are grown. The youngest is attending Community College and living at home. I'm the oldest of 9, daughter of a missionary mother who lives in The Republic of Congo, married to the son of a preacher, with 3 spoiled dogs and and an add on (my daughter's pit bull lives here for a bit while she hikes the Appalachian Trail. Right now, there is small balance after yrs of unemployment. My disability was approved due to degenerative disc disease and fibromyalgia. I believe we owe it to ourselves to protect our mental health. It's precious and the one thing we can control. I dislike my own housework and I talk too much. I bought a house in North Carolina and after trying to get my husband here for 6 months, he had a stroke. I'm a two-time caregiver. Steve's got hemiparesis and diabetes and is learning to walk and trying to use his right side again. It's slow going. Our 10 kitties were rehomed by rescue after his stroke.
This entry was posted in daily living. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to busy-ness

  1. Kate Dennis says:

    The other day I was ecstatic because I found a BOGO on cold roast chicken. I boned both of them out and made soup with the racks. The trimmings made chicken salad for lunches- the rest is in the freezer. I’ve always shopped this way and enjoyed it-because I chose to. Now it’s not such a treat but I’m glad my grandparents taught me how to be frugal.

    • I’ve re-embraced it fighting tooth and nail. lol I’ve probably forgotten more than I know today. I just want things to mellow out a bit so everything’s not in crisis mode. Glad you found the BOGO’s Kate. It eases the mind for sure.

Leave a Reply

