making extremes “SING!”

Certainty in a reality of making extremes “SING!”

Doesn’t that sound like an odd thing to say?

Today I’m certain of a few things. My dog loves me. My husband and I are ok. Our son is ok. My husband sings off key, but he’s singing his heart out to free XM radio. We have a small chicken. I have a pkg of noodles, some onions, and a big bowl full of greens from my yard.

Aside from relationships, there isn’t a lot that is certain these days. THAT is the reality of our lives. Even those can teter on the brink of ‘ify.’

We can’t depend of government benifits because the system is so strained it doesn’t work. forclosure was pushed back for a while. We have just enough money to pay our utilities each month and eat. Anything else is a gift from the Universe. One other thing that is clear is that we have to say self employed, not unemployed, because there aren’t going to be any jobs for us for a long time. Honestly, I’ve given up looking. I’m focused instead on foraging and going forward. I simply don’t know what else to do.

Future needs loom really big and menancing and I’m praying as hard as I can to ward them off. Teeth that need fixing, shoes, glasses, dr checks…things that haven’t been handled in so long I’ve lost count of years… let alone months and days.

My sweet son is going to be 16 on the 4th. We have nothing to give him, but his sister sent a gift and fullfilled his want in the current moment. He’s happy. He’s also reading his book a friend gave him at Yule and loving it.

I’m working on a new shawl to sell – a black one. I’m also working on another plarn bag. I don’t know if it will sell, but I’m hoping so. Then I will hit the needles and make wrist warmers as people want to buy them.

Some things are good, and some things aren’t, but we are making it through THIS day. When does extreme poverty start and stop? I don’t know. I like to think as long as we can and do SING, we won’t experience bad extremes. They are kept at bay.

As Ruby Dews from the movie Cold Mountain was fond of saying . . . “well, al’right then.”

And it is . . . al’right.

OMG how could I forget? I have a new grandson!

Born on January 29th, 2012 – Haskell Auden Westbrooks. Firstborn son to Vanessa Bertollini and Kelly Westbrooks. Birthplace, CALIFORNIA.

About Green Jean Granny

I believe in and practice positive living with a bit of a barb it seems. I love YARN, music, reading, history, and gemstones. I am passionate about the Earth. I am a true homebody. I've said I was Pagan for years to separate myself from a churchy upbringing and judgmental family that left me outside of its beliefs. I believe it's our responsibility to tend and protect the Earth. I basically do my thing in a (not so) quiet, amused way. I believe in the power of my own hands, the energy of combined prayer, and caring for the earth. I attend a nondenominational Christian Church. I have 6 kids, all home-born and successfully breastfed. The oldest 5 are grown. The youngest is attending Community College and living at home. I'm the oldest of 9, daughter of a missionary mother who lives in The Republic of Congo, married to the son of a preacher, with 3 spoiled dogs and and an add on (my daughter's pit bull lives here for a bit while she hikes the Appalachian Trail. Right now, there is small balance after yrs of unemployment. My disability was approved due to degenerative disc disease and fibromyalgia. I believe we owe it to ourselves to protect our mental health. It's precious and the one thing we can control. I dislike my own housework and I talk too much. I bought a house in North Carolina and after trying to get my husband here for 6 months, he had a stroke. I'm a two-time caregiver. Steve's got hemiparesis and diabetes and is learning to walk and trying to use his right side again. It's slow going. Our 10 kitties were rehomed by rescue after his stroke.
This entry was posted in daily living, survival. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

