feeling like hibernating

It’s cold this morning. No coffee, no creamer, no wood for the fireplace. I’ve got the space heater blowing on my feet and 2 pair of socks on. Wrist warmers, check! Got the tears out of the way. I’m knitting. One day I’d love a knitting board so my work could go faster. See, I can think about wants… lol I couldn’t post on Facebook. There’s just nothing to say.

I scratched Steph and Alexa onto a white emergency candle. I feel that they need the boost. My other sweet friend Stephanie is scratched on the other side as GM, and KM’s son, Patti, my own kids go on as VKKKTG+ , the + is for all three grands. Little candle holds more than you’d think.

I got 2 sets of toggle clasps off of ebay to see if I can sell some stitch markers. The homemade ones are so pretty. I’m knitting a dog sweater for Jackie. I made my first repeatable pattern for a pet bed. Yesterday the animals kept getting on my craft table and I couldn’t figure out why. I’d made a heart to go with the pet mat and filled it with catnip. They finally got it out of the ziploc baggie! It was pretty funny. Guess I’ll make another one to put on etsy. I wish I had yarn to do what I want – I’d so get the huge bulky yarn and giant hooks and needles to work it. Now that would make pet beds! I keep putting my ideas in a journal and hopefully, one day, I’ll be able to get something really going. Today though, it’s the dog sweater for my sweetie. I will have to stripe it I think to make it look good – this one skein of each color crap gets on my nerves! lol He’ll look wonderful in stripes. It’s good…

Poor food has way too many carbs in it. Crackers, bread, pasta, rice. Today I’ll make egg salad. Actually that sounds good. I better make bread too. G went to school on a muffin and about a cup of raisins. He says “I’m ok mommy” when I ask him if he wants something else. I have some strawberry yogurt and frozen fruit, but it’s 30 degrees outside and 50 in the house – not feeling the smoothie today lol. I have frozen chicken breasts, frozen biscuts, potatoes and onions, celery and peanut butter. 3 cans of tomato soup, a pk of white rice, and a bag of lentils. There is salt and about 2 cups of oil. There’s a jar of olives, a small jar of dill pickles, a couple of oranges, a package of pumpkin bar mix, cornmeal muffin mix,  canned tomatoes- I’m trying to think of what we NEED… I’m also tracking every penny we spend to see where we are loosing our balance. It may be gas for trivia but Steve sees qualifying for cash tournaments as supporting us. He has a chance at winning so I keep my mouth zipped. I try to hold onto enough money to get us to our next cleaning job (which is Tuesday). I make our food in batches these days. Today will be the egg salad. Tomorrow we’ll do shredded chicken with cottage cheese, and fried potatoes and onions. Sunday I’ll make soup. One pot and it serves all day –

list for store:

strawberry jam, peanut butter, cereal, beans, milk, oil, dog and cat food, eggs, cheese, pizza rolls, 1 lunchable, wheat crackers, check manager’s specials (MS). I have a coupon for coffee, cream is usually a MS, Aldi may have veges at a good price. We’ll start there and see about green peppers, carrots, frozen turkey, ground beef.

I can do quite a bit with what we have. Looks like we’re going to finally settle into our winter spell – 50’s in the daytime, 30’s at night. I have our seeds and will start some inside come March.

Income at $648. No house payment in FEB – can’t make it. It’s $687. Trying to hoard for something to live in isn’t working either. Got a place to set a trailer, but it may be tent city one day…no way to know yet. Anyway. There is movement upstairs so I’ve gotta go. Blessings on us all.

About Green Jean Granny

I believe in and practice positive living with a bit of a barb it seems. I love YARN, music, reading, history, and gemstones. I am passionate about the Earth. I am a true homebody. I've said I was Pagan for years to separate myself from a churchy upbringing and judgmental family that left me outside of its beliefs. I believe it's our responsibility to tend and protect the Earth. I basically do my thing in a (not so) quiet, amused way. I believe in the power of my own hands, the energy of combined prayer, and caring for the earth. I attend a nondenominational Christian Church. I have 6 kids, all home-born and successfully breastfed. The oldest 5 are grown. The youngest is attending Community College and living at home. I'm the oldest of 9, daughter of a missionary mother who lives in The Republic of Congo, married to the son of a preacher, with 3 spoiled dogs and and an add on (my daughter's pit bull lives here for a bit while she hikes the Appalachian Trail. Right now, there is small balance after yrs of unemployment. My disability was approved due to degenerative disc disease and fibromyalgia. I believe we owe it to ourselves to protect our mental health. It's precious and the one thing we can control. I dislike my own housework and I talk too much. I bought a house in North Carolina and after trying to get my husband here for 6 months, he had a stroke. I'm a two-time caregiver. Steve's got hemiparesis and diabetes and is learning to walk and trying to use his right side again. It's slow going. Our 10 kitties were rehomed by rescue after his stroke.
This entry was posted in daily living, survival. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

