Happy Thanksgiving

So far so good! Steve has not disconnected! My god, it’s the first time in 18 years he’s been present emotionally for me and Geoffrey. Don’t ask me what I’ve done differently because I really don’t know.

I’ve knitted. Steve’s piddled around in his room and listened to the Elvis station we still have on a radio that XM never turned off. G’s listening to a college lecture for his World History class. Jackie’s snuggled in the chair next to me.

I made pastry for us this morning. We had sandwiches for lunch and dinner is this amazing cheesy pasta that you scoop sauce over. I’m taking a big pan with us tomorrow to share with Steve’s family. He did throw in that my girls can’t come because they are volatile and liberal. My consolation is that his siblings are OLD. One day, holidays will be on my terms – and I can wait. We (the women I have produced) are all still growing. One day, we will be awesome!

So as soon as Thanksgiving is over, I have to gather the paperwork that BOA wants. We are at the end of their time frame for working with us. I need a blank quarterly profit and loss template form so I can fill it out as though I am a business. Not sure where to find it, but it has to be available. I have the bank payment and will mail a payment to the GA Dept of Rev so the payment on the 28th will be applied to the correct account. Then I can show BOA that it has been withdrawn and we will be good.

As this day ends, I whisper a thank you for the peace in my house, the calm amongst my kids, the smiles on my grandchildren’s faces, and the sweet dog at my feet. I thank the Universe for my friends and loved ones, and for things to keep my hands busy. I’m also thankful for the sound of my husband’s voice singing along with Elvis. It lets me know he’s in a happy place for the moment.

All is well.

About Green Jean Granny

I believe in and practice positive living with a bit of a barb it seems. I love YARN, music, reading, history, and gemstones. I am passionate about the Earth. I am a true homebody. I've said I was Pagan for years to separate myself from a churchy upbringing and judgmental family that left me outside of its beliefs. I believe it's our responsibility to tend and protect the Earth. I basically do my thing in a (not so) quiet, amused way. I believe in the power of my own hands, the energy of combined prayer, and caring for the earth. I attend a nondenominational Christian Church. I have 6 kids, all home-born and successfully breastfed. The oldest 5 are grown. The youngest is attending Community College and living at home. I'm the oldest of 9, daughter of a missionary mother who lives in The Republic of Congo, married to the son of a preacher, with 3 spoiled dogs and and an add on (my daughter's pit bull lives here for a bit while she hikes the Appalachian Trail. Right now, there is small balance after yrs of unemployment. My disability was approved due to degenerative disc disease and fibromyalgia. I believe we owe it to ourselves to protect our mental health. It's precious and the one thing we can control. I dislike my own housework and I talk too much. I bought a house in North Carolina and after trying to get my husband here for 6 months, he had a stroke. I'm a two-time caregiver. Steve's got hemiparesis and diabetes and is learning to walk and trying to use his right side again. It's slow going. Our 10 kitties were rehomed by rescue after his stroke.
This entry was posted in daily living, Holidays, survival. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Happy Thanksgiving

  1. Heather says:

    I’m thankful for you! ❤ Happy thanksgiving and all good blessings to you and yours! Muah! xo

Leave a Reply

