gatherin’ what I got

It’s a quarter till 10am and Steve’s still in bed. I was there till 8:30 because Kay woke me up whining loudly through speaker phone asking me if I thought she was in labor. Honestly? I PRAY she’s in labor before I have to drive up there and cut that baby out of her myself! she’s scared. I don’t blame her. She has visions of her cesarean scar bursting inside of her and both of them dying all because she never got to go into labor the last time. I wish she had a neighbor who could help her with this as Nick has taken off way to many days on her maybies. I had a thought that maybe all her cramping the last two weeks has to do with her large cups of red raspberry leaf tea she drinks every other day. Just maybe she’s making her pre-labor cramps effective! She has a 10:20 drs appointment today so hopefully she’ll find out what’s up and calm down. They’ve decided to name the baby Declan Lucas Kepler Montalbano and call him Declan. I hope he’s stunningly beautiful and she stops at two kids. She may want a girl, but I still don’t know what the hell for! lol That’s mean. I wouldn’t trade even one of my girls but I’d sure as hell trade (a) boy for something yummy at the very least!

Tomorrow is our drop dead pay the electic bill date and we have the money. Kayla sent me $60 for xmas and said spend it however you need to. I have $100 in G’s saving’s account, and $20 that I made for making Misty’s hat. That leaves me $10 to call in to the tax people for one bill, and $50 they withdraw at midnight tonight for the other tax bill. Thank the gods for meeting our needs and for loving, caring friends. Heather’s wrist warmers are ready to mail! They are light blue and I hope she loves them.

Could you tell from the above statement that G has hit the ‘leave me alone’ stage of teendom? He manages every moment of his time now. Those college classes are all consuming and all important. He loves them. His French is progressing at amazing speed. His pronounciation, not so much. He throws a phrase at me from time to time and I thank the goddess I took 3 years of it in hi-school! I can pop a phrase back at him and he spins laughing and says “hey! That’s not nice!” My teacher made sure we could cuss like sailors! lol Ah Mr. Simon. Bless your heart where ever you are.

I played a few minutes of WOW yesterday. I miss it tho I seriously don’t have the time any more to waste at an online game. I have to knit, plain and simple. That $100 last month got us through along with the gift from a friend. Steve’s down to about $200 a month working with his brother. We share $200 a month cleaning house; and his $348 pension that is eaten up by all the automatic payments coming out of the checking account each month. It’s no wonder we are are running in the hole.

We should get our answer from BOA in a few days and it’s time to renew our food stamps and medicaid. I worked with The collection agency this morning to get the website set up so I have confirmation of the payment promised. The bank record will have payment made. Then I’ll have the web confirmation of foodstamps/medicaid BOA wanted, and the bank statement showing my deposits. As far as I know, that’s all they need. After that, I called the DFACS Online support number to have the website reset so I can renew THAT online and she’ll call me back when it’s done AND mail me a renewal form so I’m covered either way. We will go into the office if anything runs over schedule this time.

I just spoke to Kayla and she’s NOT in labor. She’s upset.
Taryn also announced that she has an eating disorder.

It’s always something.

As far as I can tell – even though I talked around it, everything here is ok and we are as good as we can be, considering. I am decorating a ladder in place of a tree as our TREE. I have lights and ornaments to string and we aren’t buying a thing. I am going to make Steve a pair of mittens I can put a pocket into for heating rice to help with his arthritis. I haven’t decided what to do for Geoffrey. Taryn would like a pair of wrist warmers and so would Kaiha. I bought a used teapot for Taryn last summer that I put back. I might try to make Haskell a crocheted toy. I have a few cars and dinosaurs to send to Isaac. I will make Sara a necklace and matching ones for her dolls. If I’m not careful, time will get away from me. Buying stuff is so much easier. Hell, I’ve forgotten how to buy stuff for ANY occassion. I sure wanted to send cards this year.

About Green Jean Granny

I believe in and practice positive living with a bit of a barb it seems. I love YARN, music, reading, history, and gemstones. I am passionate about the Earth. I am a true homebody. I've said I was Pagan for years to separate myself from a churchy upbringing and judgmental family that left me outside of its beliefs. I believe it's our responsibility to tend and protect the Earth. I basically do my thing in a (not so) quiet, amused way. I believe in the power of my own hands, the energy of combined prayer, and caring for the earth. I attend a nondenominational Christian Church. I have 6 kids, all home-born and successfully breastfed. The oldest 5 are grown. The youngest is attending Community College and living at home. I'm the oldest of 9, daughter of a missionary mother who lives in The Republic of Congo, married to the son of a preacher, with 3 spoiled dogs and and an add on (my daughter's pit bull lives here for a bit while she hikes the Appalachian Trail. Right now, there is small balance after yrs of unemployment. My disability was approved due to degenerative disc disease and fibromyalgia. I believe we owe it to ourselves to protect our mental health. It's precious and the one thing we can control. I dislike my own housework and I talk too much. I bought a house in North Carolina and after trying to get my husband here for 6 months, he had a stroke. I'm a two-time caregiver. Steve's got hemiparesis and diabetes and is learning to walk and trying to use his right side again. It's slow going. Our 10 kitties were rehomed by rescue after his stroke.
This entry was posted in daily living, Holidays, survival. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

