home

Steve’s out working on the cars…we have thaw! I have thouroughly enjoyed the last 2 days! Next week, rain; storms and tornados?… lol I’m ready for it! Now there is brisket in the crock pot and hot tea in my mug – only a little bit of housebound time left.

I haven’t written here in a long time. I’m feeling normalacy come back to things. Balance…

I’m replacing things I’ve lost and left since there is no promise of getting them back. I’ve saved for and ordered a new/refurbished Brother sewing machine. I’ve ordered a yarn bowl and Steve has been very kind and gentle about things getting replaced. If I can, of course I will go get my posessions from Kayla, but since she has cut me off, I just don’t know what will ever come back to me. It hurts that my safe place wasn’t safe after all, but I came home knowing Steve loves me – that makes everything worthwhile.

I think that I had held on for so long that my ‘will’ gave out. I couldn’t do anything but run away. Fight or flight, right? I left with every fiber of my intention certain that the decision would NEVER be undone. Lock, stock, and barrel as the saying goes.
Then my husband made sure I knew he wanted me for always. It makes it all worth it really. Coming from where I do, I never believed anyone loved me. Not my parents or siblings or husband. Not friends either. We got married because there was Geoffrey and because I insisted. He does things because others push and that took ME out of the equation somehow. When my weaknesses are exposed, people leave me and I fear it, always. Maybe that’s how it is for everyone. Insecurity bites.

Then this damned unemployment – 5 yrs of it. It about ripped us apart. And now it’s over. Newspaper jobs again. Me, service; Steve, routes. I never thought I’d throw a route again. But after being let go from service, there is no choice. The food stamps didn’t come through this month, medicade was cancelled. We will get it straightened out I imagine, but it’s rough right now… how can I be ok? I ask myself sometimes how we will make it. But one thing is clear … coming home was the right decision.

20 yrs into this marriage and I finally get it – my husband loves me. I have loved him since I met him. I could not be without him. All he’s ever had to do was touch me or look at me and I melt. I love him. He said to me “Have the courage to love me, with all my flaws, and come home.” And I did. It’s a complicated web we weave, this life. Nothing is sure but change.

I’m home and our lives will march on. People still say to me “I thought you moved away” and it jerks me back into thinking about it. Missing some little thing that I realize is in Virginia jerks me back to it as well. I rethink how I got here and how lucky I am not to have lost the most important piece of me – I would have lived in regret all my life. Instead, I feel older and secure. I could shout it from the rooftop – MY HUSBAND LOVES ME. And I love him. And life goes on… there will be US after Geoffrey has grown and gone and THAT makes me feel secure.

OK- I think this is hashed out and my blog can just go on and be my blog…

About Green Jean Granny

I believe in and practice positive living with a bit of a barb it seems. I love YARN, music, reading, history, and gemstones. I am passionate about the Earth. I am a true homebody. I've said I was Pagan for years to separate myself from a churchy upbringing and judgmental family that left me outside of its beliefs. I believe it's our responsibility to tend and protect the Earth. I basically do my thing in a (not so) quiet, amused way. I believe in the power of my own hands, the energy of combined prayer, and caring for the earth. I attend a nondenominational Christian Church. I have 6 kids, all home-born and successfully breastfed. The oldest 5 are grown. The youngest is attending Community College and living at home. I'm the oldest of 9, daughter of a missionary mother who lives in The Republic of Congo, married to the son of a preacher, with 3 spoiled dogs and and an add on (my daughter's pit bull lives here for a bit while she hikes the Appalachian Trail. Right now, there is small balance after yrs of unemployment. My disability was approved due to degenerative disc disease and fibromyalgia. I believe we owe it to ourselves to protect our mental health. It's precious and the one thing we can control. I dislike my own housework and I talk too much. I bought a house in North Carolina and after trying to get my husband here for 6 months, he had a stroke. I'm a two-time caregiver. Steve's got hemiparesis and diabetes and is learning to walk and trying to use his right side again. It's slow going. Our 10 kitties were rehomed by rescue after his stroke.
This entry was posted in daily living. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to home

  1. Heather says:

    Tears in a good way… so happy for you, dear friend. Love you all the stars in the sky… xo

Leave a Reply

