moving again

I’m so excited about the new house…MY house. My choice, not a house I’ve settled for, but one I picked! I can’t wait!

Now to pack for it. How strange to have so very little to take. I am, once again, moving with son and dogs, my guitar, a bit of yarn, some kitchenware and a few books. We’ll bring the fridge, the dressers, a sofa and a chair, and a few odd tables. There will be no pictures this time and no sentimentals. I think a few plants and pots will come.

Steve will pack what he wants to bring which is mostly records, stereo equipment, sports memorabilia. He’ll stay behind and sell his stuff that he has bought to sell. The plan is, he’ll join us by Labor Day. I hope he pulls it off in that time frame.

When we go to Geoffrey’s orientation for college, Steve will come to Rocky Mount and bring the inside cats and Tug. That will leave 5 more to bring in September. I wish we had a way to rehome 2 of them, but they are used to eating here and we can’t leave them behind. It is what it is – choices to help are committments whether here or there.

I’ve made arrangements to have a lady come in and help me with vaccuming and moping twice a month. A little spanish woman named Irma. She speaks very little english and I can’t speak spanish to save my life. lol Guess I have something to learn! Geoffrey says he’ll help me. Maybe she will inspire him to learn a bit too.

Steve’s making big plans to sell this house and buy 2 more in RM as rentals. He’s not happy that rents are so low there. we intend to buy a lot/acre that we can garden on. As much as I wanted to raise our own meat and such, he just can’t eat what he’s raised. My hubby is a big tender heart 🙂 I wouldn’t change that gentle part of him, so we have adjusted the plan. Garden in containers, and have our brick house – mostly because we are too old to do anything else.

I get to see my sister in June too – she’s shaved her head. She looks rough – grayish. I know she has to keep hoping, trusting for healing – we all would – I think she’s starting to be fearful it might not happen. There are still active cells on her liver. In November, she hits the 2 yr mark. It’s where Drs said she’d not make it to. It’s so hard to watch her from miles away and know that even if I were closer, all I could do would be watch. I have a heartfull of wishes and I know all they are is wishes.

Anyway. This is what is taking up my time right now. Odd things, stray thoughts; phone calls to make the transition as smooth as possible – arrangements for help, a fence, utilities, CLOSING 🙂 taxes, college, knitting… always knitting. Lots of new wash clothes for the house so I can leave behind the old stained ones. And most of the house has hardwood floors which will be so much easier to keep clean than carpet.

With the disability started and work here in Atlanta, we are doing so much better. I feel the stress disapating…so many yrs of it…finally letting us go. Oh yeah, one more thing – I am officially through menopause.

 

About Green Jean Granny

I believe in and practice positive living with a bit of a barb it seems. I love YARN, music, reading, history, and gemstones. I am passionate about the Earth. I am a true homebody. I've said I was Pagan for years to separate myself from a churchy upbringing and judgmental family that left me outside of its beliefs. I believe it's our responsibility to tend and protect the Earth. I basically do my thing in a (not so) quiet, amused way. I believe in the power of my own hands, the energy of combined prayer, and caring for the earth. I attend a nondenominational Christian Church. I have 6 kids, all home-born and successfully breastfed. The oldest 5 are grown. The youngest is attending Community College and living at home. I'm the oldest of 9, daughter of a missionary mother who lives in The Republic of Congo, married to the son of a preacher, with 3 spoiled dogs and and an add on (my daughter's pit bull lives here for a bit while she hikes the Appalachian Trail. Right now, there is small balance after yrs of unemployment. My disability was approved due to degenerative disc disease and fibromyalgia. I believe we owe it to ourselves to protect our mental health. It's precious and the one thing we can control. I dislike my own housework and I talk too much. I bought a house in North Carolina and after trying to get my husband here for 6 months, he had a stroke. I'm a two-time caregiver. Steve's got hemiparesis and diabetes and is learning to walk and trying to use his right side again. It's slow going. Our 10 kitties were rehomed by rescue after his stroke.
This entry was posted in daily living. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

