life goes on…

A whole month has passed and after canceling the purchase on the house, the people pulled their stuff together and we got a call saying we could have the house. They messed us around and cost us extra money in so many ways – I had to repay the utility deposit and spent $100 on utilities when I didn’t even live there. The rates on the house insurance went up. I quit working a month too early. We spent money on 2 more house hunting trips, car rentals, gas… I have just enough money to build the fence and rent a truck. It’s a good thing the house doesn’t need anything except some paint touch up. I swear if there had been something else decent in cheap houses we’d of bought something else – BUT —– it was the best house and I loved it from the first time we walked inside. Through all the crap, this house has been in my head and I knew it was ours.

I have a house. I’m living out of boxes. I feel grumpy and I hurt. My fibro has flared. But I can’t wait to make this change. It’s going to be good not to have a house payment. We have to get everything situated to rent this GA house, but it’s really going to be good.

Steve is going to face some change. He’s working the last day of his notice today for the newspaper. He has to get this job situation figured out fast. Honestly, I could walk away from here and never look back. I wish he’d just walk away but I know he won’t. So he’ll have to find work, fix this house, finish cleaning it out (his hoarder shit still happens) and bring the cats. I think I should take the inside cats up when we go on the 6th and that leaves him the outside males to try to either rehome or bring. Ruby and Patches need to come at the very least.

And then there is Geoffrey. He’s decided to put college off for one semester. He’s worried he isn’t ready emotionally. He needs a job, too. We’ll get this move handled then figure out loans for him. And get some counseling on what to do. I want to take him to UNC at Chapel Hill and let him visit Indiana-Bloomington too. He needs to make a choice and we’ll go for it when he decides.

So that’s where I am right now with things. I have personal plans for diet changes and walking and setting up my alter. There is a UUChurch just a couple blocks from the house and I’m trying to talk myself into getting involved and maybe making some friends. I could use some real life people to visit with from time to time. We will need to meet and play nice with our neighbors so we can avoid problems with our animals. Right now, the plan is NOT to get permits – simply make sure they are current on shots and keep them inside the house and fence.

I’ve been making myself a sweater. I’m about to start the sleeves and then I’ll be done. And I guess that’s it for now.

About Green Jean Granny

I believe in and practice positive living with a bit of a barb it seems. I love YARN, music, reading, history, and gemstones. I am passionate about the Earth. I am a true homebody. I've said I was Pagan for years to separate myself from a churchy upbringing and judgmental family that left me outside of its beliefs. I believe it's our responsibility to tend and protect the Earth. I basically do my thing in a (not so) quiet, amused way. I believe in the power of my own hands, the energy of combined prayer, and caring for the earth. I attend a nondenominational Christian Church. I have 6 kids, all home-born and successfully breastfed. The oldest 5 are grown. The youngest is attending Community College and living at home. I'm the oldest of 9, daughter of a missionary mother who lives in The Republic of Congo, married to the son of a preacher, with 3 spoiled dogs and and an add on (my daughter's pit bull lives here for a bit while she hikes the Appalachian Trail. Right now, there is small balance after yrs of unemployment. My disability was approved due to degenerative disc disease and fibromyalgia. I believe we owe it to ourselves to protect our mental health. It's precious and the one thing we can control. I dislike my own housework and I talk too much. I bought a house in North Carolina and after trying to get my husband here for 6 months, he had a stroke. I'm a two-time caregiver. Steve's got hemiparesis and diabetes and is learning to walk and trying to use his right side again. It's slow going. Our 10 kitties were rehomed by rescue after his stroke.
This entry was posted in daily living. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

