beans and plarn :)

This sounds so good to me ūüôā
Amish Church Soup
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 1/2 stick of butter
  • 3 cups cooked navy beans
  • 4 cups milk
  • bread, cut into bite sized pieces
  • salt and pepper to taste
Instructions
In a large pot brown chopped onion in butter. Add beans and milk. Bring just to the boiling point. Add bread cubes and salt and pepper to taste.

I went on errands with Ms Linda this morning for a ride to¬†the utility office. The clerk was very helpful in pointing out what I’d done wrong and why my bill was higher. She knocked $18 off for now. It became clear we definitely need a flush kit! That running toilet is why we paid all that money for the month we didn’t live here. I’m also messing myself up by turning off the ac in the daytime, and turning it back on at night. We’ve been without central air/heat for so long I didn’t realize I was eating up the juice. It’s not gonna help this bill, but she promises if I do what she told me, it will definitely be better in the future.

My neighbor is a sweet lady and she wants to help. I don’t want to hurt her feelings but I can’t let the help be in the form of soda and snack food for us. She wants to take me to the movies with her and I need to make¬†myself differentiate between a developing friendship and letting her do too much. When she asked if I could mend her husband’s sofa cushions for the garage furniture, I said yes. Of course I can. I may have a niche using my sewing machine in this area if my back can handle it. I don’t have supplies to speak of these days, but that can be part of the cost. It will get better. I am definitely going to crochet with plastic bags – had a super idea for using them. I will just start being really careful with things and wasting nothing, to an even greater degree than we’ve done in the past. There are opportunities for actually supporting myself with many of the things I can do.

Anyway. Things are looking good if I can get past this money glitch. Gotta get the hubby up here!

About Green Jean Granny

I believe in and practice positive living with a bit of a barb it seems. I love YARN, music, reading, history, and gemstones. I am passionate about the Earth. I am a true homebody. I've said I was Pagan for years to separate myself from a churchy upbringing and judgmental family that left me outside of its beliefs. I believe it's our responsibility to tend and protect the Earth. I basically do my thing in a (not so) quiet, amused way. I believe in the power of my own hands, the energy of combined prayer, and caring for the earth. I attend a nondenominational Christian Church. I have 6 kids, all home-born and successfully breastfed. The oldest 5 are grown. The youngest is attending Community College and living at home. I'm the oldest of 9, daughter of a missionary mother who lives in The Republic of Congo, married to the son of a preacher, with 3 spoiled dogs and and an add on (my daughter's pit bull lives here for a bit while she hikes the Appalachian Trail. Right now, there is small balance after yrs of unemployment. My disability was approved due to degenerative disc disease and fibromyalgia. I believe we owe it to ourselves to protect our mental health. It's precious and the one thing we can control. I dislike my own housework and I talk too much. I bought a house in North Carolina and after trying to get my husband here for 6 months, he had a stroke. I'm a two-time caregiver. Steve's got hemiparesis and diabetes and is learning to walk and trying to use his right side again. It's slow going. Our 10 kitties were rehomed by rescue after his stroke.
This entry was posted in daily living. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

