Making changes

We’ve had about $300 a month for groceries since we got here. I can do that for 2 of us. This month tho, the utility bill was $645. The City said it was because I used my ac and water wrong. No help really, just suggestions which I brought home and put into practice. They made mistakes on the bill for this next month. The water and trash only came to $120, they added $18 instead of crediting it, and didn’t charge me for electric. OK. I am being mailed a new corrected bill. I think it will be back where I expected it to be when it comes. Because of the jump in this one bill, I had to apply for food stamps. I thought it would cover the groceries since it says we could make 1900 for 2 people and get 357, and all we have is 1000. They approved us for $86 a month and G will be taken off once he starts college. Big sigh. This is going to start becoming a huge challenge SOON. I need firewood and blankets. I will also be implementing a no meat diet. I’ve been leaning that way anyhow but not G. I need to figure out a way to do this and be healthy. We have to use what we have and not overdo the flour. So I’m gonna start using this blog to keep track of recipes and the change over to vegetarianism. OOOHHH….what a big scary word. We’ll still use eggs and dairy.


About Morning Knits

I believe in and practice positive living. I love YARN, music, bird watching, history, gemstones, and gardening. I am passionate about the Earth. I am a true homebody. I've said I was Pagan for years to separate myself from a churchy upbringing and judgmental family that left me outside of its bounds. I believe it's our responsibility to tend and protect the Earth. I basically do my thing in a quiet, amused way. I believe in the power of my own hands, the energy of combined prayer, and caring for the earth. I attend a Kingdom focused non denominational Christian Church. I have 6 kids, all home-born and successfully breastfed. The oldest 5 are grown. The youngest is attending Community College and living at home. I'm the oldest of 9, daughter of a missionary mother who lives in Kenya, married to the son of a preacher, with 4 spoiled dogs and and a rescued kitten. Right now, there is small balance after yrs of unemployment. My disability was approved due to degenerative discs, fibromyalgia, and obesity. That last is hard to say. I believe we owe it to ourselves to protect our mental health. It's precious and the one thing we can control. I dislike my own housework and I talk too much. I bought a house in North Carolina and after trying to get my husband here for 6 months, he had a stroke. I'm a two-time caregiver. Steve's got hemiparesis and depression and is learning to walk and trying to use his right side again. It's slow go.
This entry was posted in daily living. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s