12 more hours

It’s been so wonderful having Steve with me. He was 5 hrs later than we’d talked about. I totally cried when I first saw him – but if you think I was happy, you should have seen the dogs. Rory has grinned ear to ear the whole time. Scotty raises up on his back legs for hugs, and Jackie waits till all is calm then jumps up and does the little “I’m gonna get you” game he and Steve played for all 3 yrs before we got any other dogs. They are so happy right now and I wish I had set up the phone to record when he came through the door.

We got all kinds of little projects done. The toilet is fixed. The sinks are “weaseled” The broken window is replaced. There is foam in the basement window. The clothesline is sunk properly. The wiper blades are replaced. The chimney is checked out. We have bed sheets and each dog has a floor blanket for their beds – like they laid in their own beds lol He brought the christmas ornaments, a new christmas pillow and my glass cube that all my precious things go in – He brought the lawnmower and will leave it with me and if all goes well, he’ll mow the yard and we’ll string Christmas lights at the front door. Then tonight G’s college orientation happens.

I’ve had to stop myself from keeping on about the mess – G and I take our shoes off at the door and hubby walks across this beige carpet with his mud and bits of doggy do0 from the outside projects. He’s messy. I married him messy and knew he was when I first started dating him back in 1994. I just had to take a minute to put it into perspective. 5 months without him has let me move into my compulsively neat brain hemisphere lol OF COURSE, WE ARE DIFFERENT. He brought me dirty clothes and old linens that we were going to donate and all the winter layering things we used for the newspaper routes. I now have all the jeans that were going to be donated too. Good thing since my 26’s and 24’s are falling off baggy. (I’m wearing a pair of 22’s this morning.) I’ve finished 6 loads of laundry and still have one in the washer, one in the dryer, and one to wash. I’ll be looking up craft projects from old jeans after he goes home. January’s bills will likely be a challenge.

Last night we played trivia in a fully packed restaurant and had to sit outside in the fog next to a patio gas heater to score seats. I knew that wouldn’t be good for me, I’m not used to it anymore. I’ve got the croupy cough happening this morning so I’m sipping my Braggs ACV, lemon juice, honey with ginger and cinnamon this morning. We played at 3rd all the way through the contest and would have won had we flipped our first and second answer choices on the final. The others were correct. People came over to tell us how well we’d done playing as a 2 man team – even though we ended up in 7th place. Once Steve is here, he’ll dominate at this place. It will become our weekly outing. It’s got good food too 🙂 He’d probably host for Team Trivia except if he did he’d have to stop playing and I don’t see that ever being possible 🙂

So we have today. A few more things he’ll want to do; another thing we BOTH want to do; and loving on the dogs and coaxing G out of his room are on the agenda. The plan is to get him here by mid-January. He’s finally going to rent that storage building and move our good things out of it and he will try to make a couple turn around trips with cats. I’m still going to try to rehome the outside males once they are here. We need a place with a barn for 5 – they can be split up. They are 8-10 yrs old and all fixed. No kittens. Ruby, Cindy, Patches, and Maybellene can live in one big bedroom for the most part – I won’t be the only person to ever have a cat room 🙂

I want to go wake him up so badly – but he’ll have that drive and have to go straight to work in the morning. He’s going to need all the sleep he can get so I will restrain myself  – This is a day that can creep very slowly by and make me very happy.

About Green Jean Granny

I believe in and practice positive living with a bit of a barb it seems. I love YARN, music, reading, history, and gemstones. I am passionate about the Earth. I am a true homebody. I've said I was Pagan for years to separate myself from a churchy upbringing and judgmental family that left me outside of its beliefs. I believe it's our responsibility to tend and protect the Earth. I basically do my thing in a (not so) quiet, amused way. I believe in the power of my own hands, the energy of combined prayer, and caring for the earth. I attend a nondenominational Christian Church. I have 6 kids, all home-born and successfully breastfed. The oldest 5 are grown. The youngest is attending Community College and living at home. I'm the oldest of 9, daughter of a missionary mother who lives in The Republic of Congo, married to the son of a preacher, with 3 spoiled dogs and and an add on (my daughter's pit bull lives here for a bit while she hikes the Appalachian Trail. Right now, there is small balance after yrs of unemployment. My disability was approved due to degenerative disc disease and fibromyalgia. I believe we owe it to ourselves to protect our mental health. It's precious and the one thing we can control. I dislike my own housework and I talk too much. I bought a house in North Carolina and after trying to get my husband here for 6 months, he had a stroke. I'm a two-time caregiver. Steve's got hemiparesis and diabetes and is learning to walk and trying to use his right side again. It's slow going. Our 10 kitties were rehomed by rescue after his stroke.
This entry was posted in daily living. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

