Making things work…

Unless I’m off somewhere and don’t know it, it looks like I have money to make it to the end of the month with! That will keep us in bread and milk. What a blessing. Meds figured in and all bills covered. Food is mostly boxes and cans still, but it’s not horrid.
 
Last night we had cornbread, cooked (from frozen) turnip greens and broccoli slaw – for anyone who hasn’t tried it, TRY broccoli slaw! You take the part of the stalks you wouldn’t normally use and run them through the food processor with a carrot, hand dice a bit of onion and make ‘sauce’ with mayo, tabasco, and a bit of sugar. It stretches the fresh food budget and adds fiber to the diet and is very tasty. It’s become one of our favorites. It also lets me make 2 meals from the same head of broccoli 🙂
 
I picked up a very small London Broil on special for $3 a couple weeks ago and we’ll have meat tonight. I’m going to try to figure a way to crockpot it. I’m thinking tomatoes and green beans with it over potatoes. The Dollar Tree has been carrying 18 count eggs for $1 and as long as you don’t think about it too hard, it’s a wonderful deal. Cheap protein.
 
My thoughts on GMOs and caged and no antibiotics etc really hurt my heart when we are scrubbing (it’s a bit different from scrounging, lol. I compromise everyday and I hate it. I think about the stories of old people eating dog food we’ve read over the years and we aren’t there. I am grateful. I just worry about the inflammation and fibromyalgia and other health issues that I know come from diet. I tried to raise some food but the city mulch had no nutrients in it and aside from two squash, a handful of okra, and 3 green beans, it yielded nothing. We are going to remove it from the beds, fill in the depressions in the yard, and buy some soil this coming year.
Next year, I plan to have staggered sized containers in a bed with a brick wall in front of it. I think it’s a lovely look – I’m going to draw it out and will post a picture of what I mean, later. I have irises to put in the ground and I think they will be lovely right in front of the brick “wall”, but I need to check on their light requirements 🙂 We have moles here that tunnel under the sidewalk and through the yard. I hope to deter them with plants. I’m thinking of interspersing citronella for the terrible amount of mosquitos and gnats we get here, too. I want a reel mower in the worst way. I’d also like the hedges removed and the Nandina pulled up. These darn plants shoot up everywhere. I have so many crepe myrtles to deal with that I’m sure I can train those into hedges instead. I want to see if I can propagate some cuttings from the hydrangea bush in the back yard and plant about 6 of them along the left side of the front yard as a block between us and the abandoned yard next door. I have a lot of plans if Steve will settle down and stop hating our house. I’ve decided to paint the window panes inside the house with green and add flowers as a block to the view as well. This is a lovely home in the Historic district in Rocky Mount and to give it up would be foolish. A short fence in parts and a cottage garden type look would keep me busy and the City happy and neighbors unconcerned.
About Green Jean Granny

I believe in and practice positive living with a bit of a barb it seems. I love YARN, music, reading, history, and gemstones. I am passionate about the Earth. I am a true homebody. I've said I was Pagan for years to separate myself from a churchy upbringing and judgmental family that left me outside of its beliefs. I believe it's our responsibility to tend and protect the Earth. I basically do my thing in a (not so) quiet, amused way. I believe in the power of my own hands, the energy of combined prayer, and caring for the earth. I attend a nondenominational Christian Church. I have 6 kids, all home-born and successfully breastfed. The oldest 5 are grown. The youngest is attending Community College and living at home. I'm the oldest of 9, daughter of a missionary mother who lives in The Republic of Congo, married to the son of a preacher, with 3 spoiled dogs and and an add on (my daughter's pit bull lives here for a bit while she hikes the Appalachian Trail. Right now, there is small balance after yrs of unemployment. My disability was approved due to degenerative disc disease and fibromyalgia. I believe we owe it to ourselves to protect our mental health. It's precious and the one thing we can control. I dislike my own housework and I talk too much. I bought a house in North Carolina and after trying to get my husband here for 6 months, he had a stroke. I'm a two-time caregiver. Steve's got hemiparesis and diabetes and is learning to walk and trying to use his right side again. It's slow going. Our 10 kitties were rehomed by rescue after his stroke.
This entry was posted in daily living. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

