Sweet enough…

I ended up pushed out of the bed at 5:30 this morning. I’m sipping my second cup of coffee. Most of the daily chores are done. I like how we live. Isn’t that a strange thing to think? I have things I can do, but not too much I have to do. I can focus on different jobs whenever I feel like it, or not. I have clean laundry – folding optional. lol I’m terrible, but when a person has chronic pain, that’s how they do things.
Yesterday, G bought me the WOW upgrade I didn’t have. I enjoy playing the game and when I’m up at odd times and my hands ache, it’s an alternative to knitting 🙂
We decided that since G has no living expenses at present, he’d kick in with the current student loan check and get us a few items that we haven’t had in a long time. Clothes for him, Steve – the lawnmower we need (we got a push mower not a gas driven one). He’s going to get us a rake too. I’m very certain just these few things will make people happier around here 🙂 It takes these items off my need list so we can focus on other things.
March begins our true month of fixed-income living. Saving for taxes in the winter, buying dog food and flea meds regularly, cable, phones, utilities, groceries, car payment, insurance, medical stuff. Outside of that, we have options to keep or adjust. Then we can save for more blankets, towels, curtains, blinds – fixing the deck and getting fence panels.
One thing I want is real soil for my front yard beds and the shrubs pulled out. We have to get this shed knocked down too because it’s not safe. Geoffrey can’t do it and neither can Steve or I. I need to string some more fence wire if I can get the shed pulled down.  All these things I always depended on Steve to do. My skill set is NOT building. I had hoped Kaiha could help with this stuff but Steve had a cow over the thought of her staying with us. Oh well. Kaiha seems to be doing well and I’m thankful for that.
A childhood friend may be coming to stay with us. I’ve had so much help in my lifetime that no way am I going to withhold what I can do for someone else. I’m hoping she and Steve will get along. She likes Trump so he will have someone to talk to about him. She’s a photographer and we share a lot in common. Her grandmother was the one who taught my mother to crochet and I loved her thread crocheted blankets. She was such an inspiration and she had the tiniest little house…Mrs. Ruby Clyburn still influences my life 🙂
Now that it’s later in the morning, I have my plans set for today. I intend to put the battery back into the Hyundai and try to get it started. I also need air in the tires of the Nissan. That tire plug gets to be focused on this month. Maybe I’ll vacuum the floorboards and check all the fluids while I’m at it. ***Battery in and car moved. I’m gonna fill the bird feeders and put out the pathway lights. I want to go to the library. and I have color on my head. First time since before the stroke. Light Ash Brown. If it colors some of the gray it’s enough 🙂
I have been leaving small things for Steve to do. I brought the bowl in that he sat out on the patio for the cat. It’s on the dresser for him to pick up and walk with to the kitchen sink. I gave him a basket of clothes to fold – His stuff and towels. (I still have to refold the towels because he refuses to fold them like I want them – in half lengthwise first so they can just be draped over the rail without refolding later). I asked him to fill the kettle with water and turn it on for coffee (yes I drink instant). He’s been frustrated and crying and his foot is swollen so big it won’t go into his shoe. I’m was going to have him help me with car fluids but without shoes it’s not going to work. He’s got to have some engagement. He’s depressed and refusing to go on errands with me. I have really done all I know of to do for him. He has to work if he wants more.
I just wanted to put down what the days are like. After Steve folded the clothes, he shuffled off crying. He does the loud no words sounds and I swear he does it because he likes the sound. Yesterday I sat listening to him tell me how he’d probably use a gun on himself if he had access. Exactly why I don’t have one. he sits around sniffling loudly like Trump. Another thing he likes the sound of – Salt DISlikes the sound and growls the whole time. I just told him to get up and blow his nose so Salt can rest. I can ignore most of this. Like it or not, I’m going to make him participate in things. He bitched for cable and I got it for him then he complained how much it costs. Blah blah blah.
My sister Andrea’s husband died on the Feb. 18th – he was 48. One year and a day after her. No reason specified yet. Either his heart was bad, he overdosed, or his hand injury swollen terribly from a fall, threw a clot. Their little girl was swiped out of the home within an hour. She’s being protected. The situation holds accusations galore and I am blocked from my ‘christian’ sister’s FB because I pulled “the big sister card and gave her a DON’T you dare air the ugly online in that manner. Oh well – little loss.
Ok, I guess this is all. Gripe, gripe, bitch, bitch. Oh what a relief it is! lol I have oregano and echinacea sprouting and that makes me HAPPY! Seeds soon! I’m gonna plan the veges while I wait for the money 🙂 It’s all sweet enough.
About Green Jean Granny

I believe in and practice positive living with a bit of a barb it seems. I love YARN, music, reading, history, and gemstones. I am passionate about the Earth. I am a true homebody. I've said I was Pagan for years to separate myself from a churchy upbringing and judgmental family that left me outside of its beliefs. I believe it's our responsibility to tend and protect the Earth. I basically do my thing in a (not so) quiet, amused way. I believe in the power of my own hands, the energy of combined prayer, and caring for the earth. I attend a nondenominational Christian Church. I have 6 kids, all home-born and successfully breastfed. The oldest 5 are grown. The youngest is attending Community College and living at home. I'm the oldest of 9, daughter of a missionary mother who lives in The Republic of Congo, married to the son of a preacher, with 3 spoiled dogs and and an add on (my daughter's pit bull lives here for a bit while she hikes the Appalachian Trail. Right now, there is small balance after yrs of unemployment. My disability was approved due to degenerative disc disease and fibromyalgia. I believe we owe it to ourselves to protect our mental health. It's precious and the one thing we can control. I dislike my own housework and I talk too much. I bought a house in North Carolina and after trying to get my husband here for 6 months, he had a stroke. I'm a two-time caregiver. Steve's got hemiparesis and diabetes and is learning to walk and trying to use his right side again. It's slow going. Our 10 kitties were rehomed by rescue after his stroke.
This entry was posted in daily living. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

